2022 Metrodora Awards Winners

2022 Metrodora Awards Winners

Saturday, 10 September 2022
We are thrilled to announce the four winners of the 2022 Metrodora Awards! Inspired by the heritage of Metrodora, a Greek physician who wrote the first known medical text to be authored by a woman, these awards celebrate the pioneering achievements of all nominees in science and medicine from Emerging Regions.

We are proud to celebrate our winners' legacies and their spirit of innovation and excellence to produce tangible, ground-breaking results in their respective fields.

Congratulations to our winners: 


Clinical Practice Leader in Science & Medicine:  M. V. Padma Srivastava Head of Department of Neurology  and the Chief of the Neurosciences Center at All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India

Public Health Leader in Science & Medicine:  Liesl Zuhlke Pediatric Cardiologist and Vice-President  of South African Medical Research Council and Director Children's Heart  Disease Research Unit, South Africa  

Patient Champion in Science & Medicine:  Anita Abu Bakar Founder and President of the Mental Illness Awareness & Support Association, Malaysia

Mental Health Leader in Science & Medicine: 

Maryam Noroozian Professor of Neurology, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Iran


Learn more about our 2022 Winners:





Watch the event highlight video to enjoy a recap of the Awards and the inspiring speeches from key speakers and winners.