Announcing the Winners: Metrodora Awards

Announcing the Winners: Metrodora Awards

Monday, 12 October 2020

Women are under-represented in science.

Only 22 women have been awarded a Nobel Prize in physics, chemistry, or medicine since Marie Curie in 1903, compared to 592 men. The United Nations has marked 2020 as a pivotal year for advancing gender equality worldwide and we have heard the call.


Recognizing women leaders and pioneering scientists

To fuel the empowerment and recognition of women leaders in science and health, the International Alliance of Patients’ Organizations (IAPO) together with Patient Academy for Innovation and Research (PAIR) and Pfizer Upjohn, introduced the first international Metrodora Awards to acknowledge outstanding women achievers in science and health.

This initiative draws inspiration from Metrodora, a Greek physician and author of the oldest medical text written by a woman. By citing her story and accomplishments, and drawing from her name, we aim to both celebrate outstanding woman achievers in research and medical practice and highlight their achievements as passionate and visionary pioneers and modern day Metrodoras.

This programme is designed to empower women leaders from across the world to improve non-communicable disease (NCD) care and management and champion and celebrate their contributions to health and well-being of humankind.

The three award categories are:

  • Global Leader in Science & Health - Contributions involving nominees work ≥2 continents
  • Emerging Nations Leader in Science & Health - Dedicated to nominees from low and middle-income countries (LMIC)
  • Developed Nations Leader in Science & Health - Dedicated to nominees from high-income countries (HIC)


An international jury of women leaders from organisations involved in reducing the burden of NCDs selected the winners, each of whom will be awarded a cash prize of USD 5,000. Winners were announced on 11 October 2020 at 8 PM SGT (12 PM UTC) via a virtual ceremony.

View the winners

Background Information the Metrodora Awards